Sickness~

December 7, 2009 at 2:23 pm (Uncategorized)

Well, I know it’s been awhile but here is a new post. I can’t say there is a whole lot to update on though. Just mundane matters.

Re: the photo, I have caught a cold and yes, it is annoying. It seems to be one of those lingering colds that evolves as it goes. So although it was initially a sore throat, it is now slowing breaking free of  its cacoon (my poor throat) and becoming a beutiful new head cold. I can’t really complain too much though – if nothing else I am good spirits, which isn’t always the case when you’re sick. I have not had to wear a face mask like expected I would. It is the cultural norm to don a face mask when you’re sick; if I did so though, the students would have an even more difficult time understanding my speech. So, “for them” I have opted to go bare faced. On the bus though I will wear one in respect to other passengers….the added bonus of this strategy is that it keeps my face warm in this really cold weather…. 

On the weekend I did nothing terribly remarkable. I went hiking (yay!) in area called Sadang, slightly outside of Seoul. The weather was very cold and it snowed a little; I saw a Buddhist temple there but forgot my camera and can’t remember the name of the mountain (spelling too difficult). Other than these failings it was an enjoyable outing.

I am going to be attending a co-workers wedding this weekend. Looking forward to cultural comparison. The teacher is a very nice lady and I wish her the best and a happy marriage. Just thought of something…what should I wear? AHHH!

Permalink 4 Comments