The Quest for Good Skin

February 24, 2011 at 7:23 am (Uncategorized)

 

We’ve all had those day. Woke-up, looked into the mirror, and thought “Oh my….what is that on my face?!?!” Sadly, that day has been the past two weeks for me. Talk about a bummer. I had a bad break-out on my chin and 2 weeks later I am still trying to shake it. Normally, talking openly about acne is not something you do, because there is a level of embarrassment about it. But after two weeks, I have nothing to lose. lol Not only is it painful, but it is unsightly. Especially in Korea, where there is such a focus on appearance, I feel like the Phantom of the Opera minus conveniently placed mask. Recently I’ve existed by dashing across school grounds and stealthily slinking through the school corridors. It is almost funny.

But what caused these problems? I’ve always had acne problems (mild), and often grudgingly accept the occasional pimple. But this is not mild, but severe! Well, after perusing multiple medical websites, I’ve decided that my entire lifestyle is incorrect. Drastic changes must be made! No, no, the recommendations are too drastic for me. Seriously though, it is crazy the amount of material out there. Personally, I had just generally given up on clear skin. I figured that my skin  wasn’t awful so, I should just be thankful and accept my lot. I don’t know.

Still, after reading a lot of different opinions I believe my downfall might have been in the Valentines Day chocolates. Thank you kind parents! ha ha No, a wonderful box of chocolate came my way & I consumed it all in several days. Apparently, the sugar in chocolate is really bad for your skin. 2nd bad thing, I was having more milk products than usual, because I decided that eating breakfast (cereal) everyday was a good idea. 3rd bad thing, I had several meat-based meals that were greasy. The culmination of these sins was the resulting Phantom face.

Hopefully, things will clear up soon. I am trying everything under the sun (cleansers, face masks, praying, etc). I am going to a skin clinic on Saturday and hoping the dermatologist will give me some aid. I went there once before for a rash under my eye and the doctor was really good (as were the results). So, here is hoping!

Question: I know this is a strange post for me, but does anyone want to comment on their skin-horror stories? Don’t be shy now~ Mom, I’ve always thought that you had really good skin? Is that true?

8 Comments

  1. mom said,

    mel, in my day there were few dermatologists, and at your age i had no idea what they did. how times change! now a guaranteed medical field with lots of patients is dermatology. woe to those of us who used baby oil and iodine to tan ourselves on the beach! we fell right into their clutches! i, like most young people, had acne. i lived through it without the help of a dermo. not that i liked the experience. i used over the counter products and prayed like you. it was embarassing, but i considered myself lucky compared to others who had more severe cases. whenever i bemoan my lot in life, i think about others who would be glad to have whatever is troubling me. i recognize that in asia your situation (acne) is a dire one since they are so focused on the human body and face in particular. go to the dermo and see what can be done. seeing the doctor, cleansing your face, and modifying your diet are good ways to start correcting your problem. i guess i won’t be buying anymore candy? love, mom

    • stella321 said,

      I guess the tanning bed is the equivalent of your baby oil and iodine. So many people are going to have trouble down the road because they did that. I am so glad I never used the tanning bed. I know I have enough trouble with the sun itself – I burn so easy. Reading what you said, maybe we have similar skin? Although looking at you now I would never think that – you have great skin! I agree with what u say though, my problem is not that bad compared to others. I know that.

  2. Aunt Pat said,

    Mel, Like your mom said in our day you just bought what was available and smeared it on at night to help cure the problem by morning! Never worked that quickly! I will offer you this advice……..be cautious what you put on your skin because I used so much clearasil once that it chafed my super sensitive skin and caused the problem to worsen. Go to the dermatologist and see what he or she prescribes. Remember, this too will pass! Hang in there and keep reminding yourself that things could be worse. I know, I know, that phrase doesn’t cut it. Take care. Love ya, Aunt Pat

    • stella321 said,

      Yeah, it is true you have to be careful when you choose your products. & not overdue it — overload of products. It is all a bit too complicated for me to follow. :p

  3. dad said,

    Ok, the most famous remedies/cures in my day were 1) Absorbine Junior, rubbed liberally all over your face and neck–it didn’t cure anything, but the smell was so overpowering that it sent people running from you and thus you didn’t have to face them long with your embarassment; the one bad side effect is that your skin takes on a greenish palor ; 2) stick your whole head underwater in the ocean and don’t come up for air for 2 minutes–this doesn’t cure anything either, but it will get your mind completely off your comparatively miniscule complexion problem; 3) a strict diet of nothing but carrots, celery and prunes–this doesn’t cure the skin problem but keeps you regular and improves your eyesight, which are far more important. 🙂

    There, feel better? You can see I am not terribly moved by this issue, although I do agree with the more serious advice offered by your mother and aunt, i.e., go see a dermatologist. The dermo will probably not help alot, but he needs to make a comfortable living like all doctors, and will be happy to have a paying costumer. Good luck, and let us know how it goes! .Love. Dad.

    • stella321 said,

      best cure was probably the absorbine junior. ha ha 😛

  4. tossey said,

    Here’s a grad school essay I wrote related to this topic many moons ago. You’re not alone, my friend 🙂
    http://www.jclass.umd.edu/652352/tossey/

    Hope things are better! And never blame chocolate for anything. Ever. It’s not worth it…

  5. Leah said,

    Hi Mel,

    You are probably stripping your skins natural oils by applying to many products to your face.Cease and desist. Go to derm or try a product like Proactive which works well. The best, very best thing,I can tell you is try low dose birth control. It works amazingly well!! Most women have a hormonal imbalance that causes breakouts. I had acne in high school and thats what my doc recommended– worked very well.

Leave a comment