Korea U. & National Museum of Korea

March 14, 2010 at 2:11 pm (Uncategorized)

This weekend was a very nice weekend for me despite the cool and gloomy weather. I did not have much stress about school work (for once) because I had a lesson planned out, which meant that I did not pick up the books once. Instead I got out a did a small bit of adventuring. I’ve felt pretty guilty that I had only seen one museum in the Seoul area since my arrival in Korea; so I finally remedied that problem this Sunday by visiting the Nat’l Museum. “The museum in Yongsan, downtown Seoul, is the largest museum in Asia (and sixth largest in the world), in terms of the total size of exhibition spaces and the number of display items” (HiSeoul). Sad to report, however, that it was not my favorite museum. Maybe my lack of close familiarity with Asian history and the large and at times impersonal  size of the building and its exhibitions made me a bit biased. But I still enjoyed spotting some of the national treasures and feeling like I checked something-off my cultural-to-do list. I think that a smaller museum is the better choice for me (I enjoyed the ones in Gyeongju) or maybe I would have had a better time if I had went on a tour. The next place I want to visit is an art museum – some place where I can just relax.

I also re-visited Korea University. I still think that the campus is gorgeous and was happy that the weather held out for me that day – because the next day it rained. Walked around campus and had a nice lunch. Then visited a nearby Buddhist temple. Good day. Visiting colleges makes me want to go back to school myself, or reminisce — crazy, right? I just finished my schooling and I am already thinking about what I want to study next and where. The downside of these delusions is the actual work part of college….ha ha papers and tests…I think I that I have pushed these memories/nightmares to the back of my memory. In fact I don’t recall any of those aspects…just the fun with friends and interesting classes. j/k 😛

2 Comments

  1. Leah said,

    Hey Mel, Well, I’m sure that your mother is thrilled to read that post about you getting (almost) ready to further your education!I have enjoyed catching up on your posts- as always, they provide added insight into a culture that I know nothing about.Bill and Gayle brought back the most beautiful traditional dress for Savannah- Its so pretty that I look at it all the time.I’m going to get a photo of her in it and send to you.Gabe begins baseball training today and its 3-4 practices a week– unreal!! They are each 2 hrs long.

    I’m glad you are enjoying yourself over there- weather is warming up here. Spring is in the air! You have missed one heck of a winter here in DE.Your dad said that you are planning on staying another year in SK.Thats a big decision, but I hear that you will be coming back to De for a few weeks and we all look forawrd to seeing you.

    Love- leah

  2. Patti Adams said,

    Hi Mel,
    I know how you enjoy museums. Maybe you will find one that is a bit more interesting. Hope you also find an art museum to visit. Since you mentioned that you thought about going back to school the day you walked around the university I wonder if you have any thoughts of someday returning to the USA and teaching English as a second language. If so, you could get certified in teaching and perhaps get a masters degree in your field. Just thinking and wondering how to lure you back to the USA !!!!! Love ya, Aunt Pat

Leave a comment