I can read…

March 22, 2010 at 2:24 pm (Uncategorized)

Not a lot of things to really update you guys on; fairly normal school week. So, I thought I would upload my reading list (as it is as of now). I have really been bragging about lately; so, I thought rather than talking about it incessantly, I would go ahead and share it. *sorry guys!* I don’t know why I’m so darn excited about it. I feel like a kid again. It makes me happy. I scrounge for English books at the local library and make do with whatever they have that strikes my fancy at the moment. Their collection is not too bad. My reading list is rather short – I just started it a month ago (February). But hopefully it will soon be a very long list (provided I continue to find the time in btwn work). I am issuing all challenges to people who’d like to offer up their book list. We can have a read-off. Ha ha 

Melody’s Literary List of Success

  1. Old School – Tobias Wolff
  2. My Uncle Oswald – Roald Dahl
  3. Howl’s Moving Castle – Diana Wynee Jones
  4. The Catcher in the Rye – J.D. Salinger
  5. My Sister’s Keeper – Jodi Picoult
  6. Confessions of a Shopaholic – Sophie Kinsella
  7. Ten Sorry Tales – Mick Jackson
  8. The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks – E. Lockhart
  9. The Book of Lost Things – John Connolly
  10. The Man of My Dreams – Curtis Sittenfeld
  11. Alice in Wonderland – Lewis Carroll

***In the works***

  • A Clockwork Orange – Anthony Burgess
  • Catch-22  – Joseph Heller

6 Comments

  1. KatieH said,

    How’d you like The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks? I raced through it last summer one day at the beach and thought it was delightful. I just read The Evolution of Calpurnia Tate, and thought of you–it’s about the only girl in a family of boys & how she learns about science and the natural world from her grandfather. It’s set in Texas around 1900 and is great. A very “girls can do anything” message.

    I’m at the Delmar Library at least once a week–I’m happy to join your little read-off:-)

    • stella321 said,

      The book was good. You always seem to be reading something interesting. We should def do a book comparison. ;P

  2. mom said,

    mel, nice list. i don’t know some of the authors though. you should also read “through the looking glass” by carroll since you’ve read “alice”; his poems are also quite entertaining. since the carroll book is yours and if you don’t need it, you could donate it to the high school library if they accept paperbacks. boy, could we give them some books from home!
    i am just perusing “the practical nomad” which i received on ILL from dtcc; it is supposed to be about how to travel around the world. a little dated, 2004, but i can always use pointers.
    i tried to get another book on ILL, but dtcc said it would cost me money to get it – postage charges to and from. so, dtcc decided not to get it for me; this is their usual procedure since only doctoral candidates are really passionate about ILL books. i expect the book will eventually be available locally since the author, whom i can’t remember, has written scads of books, has a tv show, and website. keep reading. remember, those who read succeed! an old library motto. love, mom

    • stella321 said,

      Thanks Mom. I should read “Through the Looking Glass” — Alice in Wonderland was such a quick read. But still quite enjoyable. My recent batch of books are taking me a while longer. *sigh* When are you going to read the last HP book? huh, huh? The movie is coming out soon…

  3. william chandler said,

    Well, all very interesting, if foreign to me. My suggestion is that you read some of my books, which currently range from : In Search of Excess, by Graef Crystal, and chronicling the rise in CEO pay during the 1970’s thru the 1990’s. Or, “War, Revenue, And State Building” by Sheldon Pollack (I’m reading this because Pollack is a UD legal studies professor. Or, try “What the Dog Saw” by Malcolm Gladwell, one of the best anecdotalist authors writing today. There. I’ll read Alice in Wonderland in return. Actually, I cited to the movie and the book in one of my recent opinions, so I should read it again in case I am asked about it. Keep it up. I’m going to work on the e-reader this weekend and get it working. More on that later. Now time to fix dinner for “she who must be obeyed”! Love you. DAD.

  4. KatieHall said,

    Believe it or not, I never read Alice in Wonderland. So, like your dad, I’m going to put down my fascinating nonfiction books to give it a go.

Leave a comment